Hospitals consistently struggle with triage accuracy, prolonged ED wait times and inappropriate disposition. The lack of consistent triage acuity category assignment and comprehension of a triage scale’s theoretical elements and implementation inevitably lead to poor outcomes, reduced efficiency in throughput, and increased risk to patients, staff, and hospital emergency departments. This course is designed specifically to improve triage acuity category assignment and appropriate disposition and treatment for presenting complaints in a highly interactive online environment.


  1. Explain the benefit of transition from a three-level to a five-level acuity scale.
  2. Define level definitions.
  3. Identify three causes of mistriage.
  4. Describe the subjective nature of acuity scales.
  5. Identify the goals of a triage system which incorporates the CTAS. List modifications to CTAS (as presented in this course) and the rationale for such.
  6. Identify probable outcomes for departments, managers, and caregivers that use CTAS.
  7. Review initial steps of triage assessment prior to assigning acuity.
  8. Identify discriminators which would identify high-risk patients.
  9. Demonstrate an understanding of the Canadian Triage Acuity Scale (modified).
  10. Demonstrate acuity assignment and reassessment process.
  11. Assign an accurate triage category based on a systematic approach to assessment for each presentation or group of presentations.
  12. Access a quick-reference tool to confirm acuity assignment.
  13. Prioritize patients on the basis of clinical presentation for higher acuity levels and on the basis of expected resource consumption for lower levels; and assign an appropriate and timely disposition.


Education Disclosure

 Therancc-logoe are no relevant financial relationships by any planner or content authors that affect the planning, implementation, or evaluation of these activities. These activities are successfully completed by: logging in, participation in all exercises included, satisfactory performance on the post-test (80% or higher), and completion of the participant feedback tool. Seats are purchased for a term of twelve months. Learners have 30 days to complete the activity once assigned a seat.


Triage First is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Commission on Accreditation. The ANCC Accreditation Program and ANCC Accredited Organization are trademarks of the American Nurses Credentialing Center. All Rights Reserved.

ANCC is the world’s largest and most prestigious nurse credentialing organization, and a subsidiary of the American Nurses Association (ANA). ANCC is the only nurse credentialing organization to successfully achieve ISO 9001:2008 certification in the design, development, and delivery of global credentialing services and support products for nurses and healthcare organizations.